Head & Heart Supplemental Resources

So glad you decided to read Head & Heart, either on your own, with your spouse, or with a group! It’s a great way for other couples desiring to be strong spiritual leaders of their family to motivate one another and exchange ideas. Here are some resources to help you as you journey through the book with others:

  • Head & Heart Book Recommendation Announcements: designed to be used as bulletin announcements, for diocesan/parish/ministry email blasts, and for social media, these brief descriptions of the book will help encourage others to grab a copy for themselves or join a discussion group.
  • The Catholic Resource Guide for Spiritual Leaders: a great free resource for readers of Head & Heart and others who are looking for recommendations for tons of top-notch Catholic websites, books, audio and video resources to help you better learn and share the Catholic faith.
  • Head & Heart Memes: designed for use in social media to help spread the word to your Head & Heart study group – or even just to your friends or parish community – about the importance of spiritual leadership in family life. Please save and share! Also, follow me on Facebook for more images and articles related to spiritual leadership and family life to share with your networks.

HH Meme1

HH Meme2HH Meme3HH Meme5HH Meme4HH Meme6HH Meme7HH Meme8HH Meme9HH Meme10HH Meme11HH Meme12HH Meme13HH Meme14HH Meme15HH Meme16HH Meme17HH Meme18HH Meme19

FREE Head & Heart Study Guide Now Available!

Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 1.24.52 PMNow available for individual readers, couples, or groups…

Discussion & Reflection Guide for Head & Heart: Becoming Spiritual Leaders for Your Family.

Click here to download for FREE: Head and Heart Study Guide

…and please share with your family, friends, and parish community! The book was written for use at home, or in adult faith formation, mens’/womens’ groups, marriage prep and marriage ministry at your parish.

“Home and hearth mark the ordinary path that leads to heaven. It’s where we make progress—or we get lost. Katie Warner has drawn up a map we can read and follow, so that we all arrive at the goal, together with our families.” —Dr. Scott Hahn, Founder and President of the St. Paul Center for Biblical Theology, Bestselling author and speaker

Made to Complement

couple in field“Our culture today often fights the distinctions between men and women, between the masculine head and the feminine heart of the family.

“Contrary to certain secular opinions, husbands and wives and mothers and fathers cannot easily fulfill one another’s roles. As Christians, we know that the God-designed differences between men and women contribute to the enrichment of family life, as Pope Francis has been addressing in his general audiences.

“God created men and women to complement one another, which works to our advantage in our spiritual lives and families…”

Read more from my recent NC Register column here: http://www.ncregister.com/site/article/made-to-complement/#ixzz3lN1PkQFk

Teach the Faith to your children

“Familiaris Consortio (The Role of the Christian Family in the Modern World) is abundantly clear about the role of parents in educating their children: “Since parents have conferred life on their children, they have a most solemn obligation to educate their offspring. Hence, parents must be acknowledged as the first and foremost educators of their children. … Hence, the family is the first school of those social virtues which every society needs” (36).

“Without question, parents are the primary influence on the faith lives of young people. Many Catholic parents are deliberately teaching and witnessing the faith to their children at home, laying a foundation of faith that will support their families for a lifetime.”

Read more from my recent article in the National Catholic Register...

For help learning and teaching the Catholic faith at home, check out my free Catholic Resource Guide for spiritual leaders.


Head & Heart Now Available!

HH book coverIt’s here! Head & Heart: Becoming Spiritual Leaders for Your Family is now available for pre-order!

Want to learn how to become a stronger spiritual leader for your family, and live a more vibrant, purposeful Catholic life in your home? This book will show you how. Learn more here.

“Home and hearth mark the ordinary path that leads to heaven. It’s where we make progress — or we get lost. Katie Warner has drawn up a map we can read and follow, so that we all arrive at the goal, together with our families.” -Dr. Scott Hahn

Please help spread the word!

Head & Heart Book Recommendation Announcements

HH Meme19Share your Catholic faith with your family…more than just on Sundays. Learn how to become spiritual leaders at home by ordering your copy of Head & Heart: Becoming Spiritual Leaders for Your Family from EmmausRoad.org.

Want to live a more vibrant Catholic life at home? Discover more peace, joy, and meaning in your life and relationships by becoming spiritual leaders for your family. Pick up a copy of Head & Heart: Becoming Spiritual Leaders for Your Family from EmmausRoad.org.

Are you looking for a resource to help you live your Catholic faith at home? Through inspiring stories, church teaching, and practical action steps, Head & Heart: Becoming Spiritual Leaders for Your Family will guide you toward making simple progress to better lead and love your family toward heaven. Get your copy from EmmausRoad.org.

Looking for an inspiring Catholic book? Order your copy of Head & Heart: Becoming Spiritual Leaders for Your Family from EmmausRoad.org. It’s great for individual reading, marriage improvement, and group book study. Learn to become the “spiritual head” or “spiritual heart” of your family that God created you to be.

*These announcements can obviously be customized to your group, parish, or ministry to include other details. The book is also available on Amazon, and has both print and e-reader formats on both Amazon and EmmausRoad.org.

Moving Forward in Ordinary Time

rosary in hand_red“Ordinary Time is not a stagnant or unimportant season; like all other seasons in the Church year, it is an ordered time for growth and a time to strengthen one’s spiritual life and be Christ to one’s neighbor, making Ordinary Time more extraordinary.”

Read more from my recent feature in the RegisterMaking Ordinary Time Extraordinary: How to Prioritize Prayer, Joy, and Works of Mercy Year-Round.

Giving Makes Us Grow

green tree2“Giving can stretch us out of our comfort zones, but in that stretching, we inch ourselves closer to becoming spiritual leaders after God’s own heart. Give a little, and then a little more, until you feel some discomfort. Where there is pain, there is generally some eternal gain.”

Read more of my article: Tithing: Making Time, Talent, and Treasure Servants to Your Spiritual Leadership.

Your Most Solemn Obligation

familyWithout question, parents are the primary influence on the faith lives of their children. Study after study shows that when parents are strong spiritual leaders, and when fathers—yes, dads in particular—teach and witness the faith to their children, the kids are far more likely to grow up and live faithful lives themselves.

What kind of role do you want the Catholic faith to play in the lives of your grown children? That’s the kind of role that faith should be playing in your life right now. You are the primary educators of your children—not the pastor, not the youth minister, not the Sunday school catechist, Confirmation coordinator or Catholic school theology teacher. You and your spouse have the privilege and the responsibility to teach your children about their Christian faith, which also requires that you continually learn about it yourself…

Read more of this article here.

Father’s Day Book Giveaway!

In anticipation of Father’s Day coming June 21, I’m giving away two great books perfect for Father’s Day gifts by popular Catholic authors. These books will help you or a man you love learn how to integrate faith and work and how to find personal and professional satisfaction. Enter to win these books for yourself or for the husband, father, or grandfather in your life…

fathers_day_book_giveawayThe Catholic Briefcase: Tools for Integrating Faith and Work by Randy Hain

“The Catholic Briefcase helps Catholics integrate their faith with their jobs through practical tips, relevant examples, and the inspirational stories of others who have successfully learned how to bring their Catholic identity with them to work. This book provides tips and ideas for finding time for prayer and reflection throughout the day and explores ways to make business decisions through the filter of Catholic teaching. Being a “light for Christ” is ultimately the best way to share your faith with others as they will be drawn to you by your good example and joy. The Catholic Briefcase helps the reader evaluate where they have been in their business life and where being a “light for Christ” can take them. The practical nature of the content gives the reader a roadmap to a deeper faith in an area (the workplace) they have likely ignored in the past.” To find more books by Randy Hain, visit RandyHain.com.

Off Balance: Getting Beyond the Work-Life Balance Myth to Personal and Professional Satisfaction by Matthew Kelly

“One of the major issues in our lives today is work-life balance. Everyone wants it; no one has it. But Matthew Kelly believes that work- life balance was a mistake from the start. Because we don’t really want balance. We want satisfaction. Kelly lays out the system he uses with his clients, his team, and himself to find deep, long-term satisfaction both personally and professionally. He introduces us to the three philosophies of our age that are dragging us down. He shows us how to cultivate the energy that will give us enough battery power for everything we need and want to do. And finally, in five clear steps, he shows us how to use his Personal & Professional Satisfaction System to establish and honor our biggest priorities, even if we spend a lot more time on some of the lesser ones.” To find more books by Matthew Kelly, visit DynamicCatholic.com.

*This giveaway is open to residents of the contiguous United States only. One winner will receive both books.*

St. Joseph, pray for husbands and fathers–and all men–to become more humble, sacrificial, prayerful, courageous, and holy like you.

a Rafflecopter giveaway